What is the difference between Multiple Categories and Single Scale assessments?

Which assessment type is the best option for you?

Get started with Easy LMS

Request a free demoorStart a free trial

When you start creating an assessment, you'll have to choose between two assessment formats: Multiple Categories or Single Scale Assessment. Let me explain the basic differences between them here:

Multiple Categories assessment

The format for a Multiple Categories assessment can be used to create assessments were a respondent can fit into one, or several different categories. There's no "right or wrong" result here. The result shows to which category(ies) the user belongs to/scored the highest at.

This is the format that would typically be used for a personality test. Where the categories could be someting like: "You are a dreamer", "You are an adventurer", or "advocate", or "worker", etc.

Before creating the questions for your assessment, start by creating the categories. Then, you can create the questions and, for each answer, you can add points related to a specific category. This way, the system will "know" which category the user scored the highest at. 

Single Scale assessesment

With the Single Scale format you can create assessments where a respondent can score within a specific category, or scale. 

This format can be used for placement or skill level tests (like from "beginner" to "expert") or whatever you want to measure that belongs to different levels of the same category. 

For this type of assessment, it's best to create the questions first and edit the categories later.

Editing the categories

When creating and editing the categories for your assessment, bear in mind that you are actually creating "levels" within the same category. Therefore, you'll see a list of points for the whole assessment:

And you need to determine the amount of points allowed for a given category (or level). You can do that by calculating percentages for each level.

Example - Placement test:

  • Maximum points for the whole test: 43 (= 100%)
  • Maximum points for category/level 1 -> Begginer: 13 (= 30%)
  • Maximum points for category/level 2 -> Intermediate: 22 (50%)
  • Maximum points for category/level 3 -> Advanced: 43 (= 100%)

Unfortunately, because of the complex structure of assessments, if you started creating an assessment and decided that another assessment type is the best option for you, it's not possible to make that change afterwards 😭

So you'll have to "go back to the drawing board" 😅 and create another assessment, this time with the type that best fits your needs...
I'm sure you can get it done in no time 💪 😉 

Get started today!

Join almost 1 million users and try out our awesome tool.

Start your free trial today